理解物理渲染对绘画的帮助

 

对于绘画的步骤和要点,一直以来我都在思考,素描我画的是不差的,但是色彩上总还是有点不得要领,背后有一些规律还没有摸清的缘故。
各种绘画教材和课程上,大多只是给出了现象,也都没有说到最底层的原理。

最近终于有所突破,需要记录下来,以便回顾,也便于分享。

说到底还是要感谢图形程序员们,程序员的脑子到底和画画儿的结构不同,直接就挖到了问题的最根本,当然,他们能用方程式把这规律在计算机里重现出来,最后还是要靠画画儿的搞出漂亮画面来。

最近Unity5的基于物理渲染shader出来了,我反复查找这方面的信息,发现这对传统绘画技巧有很大帮助:
基于物理的渲染,就是根据真实的物理规律来表现画面。老的方法是根据经验,看到这里有高光,就在公式里加一个高光,有阴影,就在公式里加个阴影,其实并不了解为什么有高光,也不了解为什么有阴影。传统绘画也是这样,看画家的眼力劲,而不是对光的真实物理规律的理解。

干货从这里开始:

物理渲染有这么几个关键点:漫反射,反射,能量守恒,金属/非金属,菲涅耳,微表面

漫反射:光线照射到物体上,光线会从原子之间的空隙进入物体,然后产生折射,一部分波长的光被吸收,另一部分没有被吸收的则又穿出物体表面,最后射入我们的眼睛里,这部分没有被吸收的特定波长的光,就是这个物体的颜色,也就是物体的漫反射。漫反射=物体本体的颜色。

反射:反射是光打在物体上,没有进入原子之间的空隙,直接打到原子上,然后被反弹出来的光,没有任何特定波长的光被吸收,所以,反射光=环境光颜色。

能量守恒:物体反射出的光,不会比照射它的光能量更强。

金属/非金属:他们之间的区别主要在于原子结构的不同,也导致了漫反射和反射属性的不同。漫反射方面:金属原子致密,光波无法进入原子间的空隙,所以几乎如数被反射,所以金属是没有颜色的,或者说是黑色的;反射方面:某些金属,表面的原子会吸收光子中的电子,所以某些金属会改变反光的颜色,比如金子会将反射光变为黄色。具体理论涉及到量子物理,有兴趣可以自己去查

菲涅耳:简单的讲,就是视线垂直于表面时,反射较弱,而当视线非垂直表面时,夹角越小,反射越明显。如果你看向一个圆球,那圆球中心的反射较弱,靠近边缘较强。

微表面:光的反射现象,是发生在原子层面的,所以对物体表面的粗糙度很敏感。越粗糙,反射角度越散,最后射入眼睛的光线,也就越弱/分散。

以上就是基于物理的计算机渲染的大致介绍。那么这些对于传统绘画又有什么关系呢?

主要是两个方面,一个是明暗关系:绘制物体的时候,单独一个物体上的明暗关系=物体本身颜色+环境光反射。物体本色颜色好理解,就是漫反射。但是环境光反射,则受到多方面的影响,最主要是要考虑到物体的反射率。得出反射率后,用反射率乘以照射到这部分的光线强度,就是画面这个部分的最终明暗度。

第二个是颜色:颜色其实很好办,物体本身颜色+环境光反射颜色*反射率。反射率越高,环境光颜色越强,本体颜色越淡。

在我们画明暗关系的时候,物理渲染的要素们是这样作用的:
漫反射:漫反射越强整体明暗越亮。反之亦然。
反射:物体的材料越致密,反射光的比例越大,漫反射比例越小。反之亦然。
能量守恒:物体表面的亮度,永远超不过入射光线的亮度。
金属/非金属:金属没有漫反射;平时看到金属上有漫反射的部分,其实都是氧化物,脏东西之类的非金属附属物。
菲涅尔:表面与视角夹角越小,反射越强烈。
微表面:表面越粗糙,反射越尖锐,对比度越高。反之则越散开,模糊。

理论呢就是这么简单。(呵呵)

但是实际用起来,还是有点复杂,漫反射的部分好办,画物体本色就好了,但是后面反光的部分,涉及到反射光,微表面,菲涅尔的互相影响,然后还有根据能量守恒做调整。所以在真正画的时候,最好是分解步骤,一步一步来,而且这个步骤,并不和物理渲染的元素一一对应。

下面看栗子,更好理解:
借用伟大的值得赞美的优秀的大牛Sam Nielson的图。

首先线条造型,这没有什么好说的,基本功。

然后新建图层吧线稿放在后面准备开始搞明暗了。

这一步很有意思,他先画了环境闭塞(Ambient Occlusion)在图形学中有多重实现方式,道理呢也就是说光线在狭小的空间中会被来回反射,最后进入我们眼睛的光也就少了,所以会有阴影的效果。做这一步主要的考虑是物体表面的角度,以及多个面之间的距离,如果两个物体表面角度小于90,或者距离很小,那么环境光闭塞的情况就开始出现。这一步在渲染中,主要是为了快;在绘画中用,就是主要因为简单方便—一次性把反射的太多元素一起表现出来,脑子处理不了。

ok,这一步大面积的光影出现了,注意在这一步中,他对不同渲染元素的处理:微表面/反射光–衣服比皮肤粗糙/质地更松软,所以衣服的高光面积大,相对模糊,皮肤高光相对集中,明暗分界更明确;菲涅尔–袖子转折的地方,越靠近边缘,表面与视线的夹角越小,反射率越大,也就越亮。包括胡子,杯子,等等元素上都体现了这个公式;能量守恒–这个在2D绘画上没有那么明显,主要是亮部不要过度就好了。(注意:这里所有的明暗,表现的都是反射,而不是漫反射;整体场景无论材质如何都像是白色的本色)

明暗和AO叠加,明暗效果就完成了,AO的绘制低相对简单,只要有扎实的透视基础,很直白就能搞定了。主要是在第二部明暗的绘制上,要熟练结合运用反射光,微表面,菲涅尔,能量守恒这几中元素,来破解物体上不同部分的反射率的改变,然后考虑照射到这个部分的光线强度,最后得出最终的明暗。这需要一些练习。

到了颜色的部分了,我们把之前画的AO和明暗两个图层隐藏,开始填颜色。根据物体本身的颜色平涂,这一部其实就是物体的漫反射。这里注意之前画明暗的时候,我们其实没有画漫反射的,在这一步,我们才开始把漫反射加进去–直接用颜色的饱和度与明度表现出来。

这一步超简单,把之前隐藏的明暗图层和AO图层叠加上去。这样我们就有了漫反射(明度与饱和度)+反射(明度),唯一缺少的,是反射光的颜色(反射光的饱和度)。

这一步是最后的点睛之笔,和我们之前换明暗的路数一样,算出不同部分的反射率,反射率高的地方环境光就鲜艳,反之亦然。

大功告成。

总结一下:

第一:漫反射很简单,但是正确的表示不同材质间的明度与饱和度差别很重要。

第二:反射的部分分两步走,第一步明暗度:根据不同部分的材质(反射)、粗糙度(微表面)、角度(菲涅尔)算出这部分的反射率,然后用反射率乘以射到这部分的光强度,就得到最终的明暗度。第二部,用同样的反射率乘以光颜色,得到这部分的色彩倾向和饱和度。

 

Posted in Uncategorized | 评论关闭

魔法之书 预告片

对不起,此内容只适用于English

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

魔法之书 关卡贴图

 

 

 

 

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

魔法之书 主角

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

PBR can help you paint better

I’m always trying to understand better about the hand painting steps and techniques. I have pretty good painting skill, but still feel fuzzy about coloring. This is because I still don’t fully understand the rules behind it.

All the tutorials and books I have read  just teach how to paint, but never explain why.

Finally, I think I made progress and I’m kinda excited about it. Despite my English writing skills, I think I should share with you what I learned.

In the very beginning of this article, I want to thank the computer graphic Programmers for continuing to dig until they got to the bottom of the problem and solved it. But after all, it’s the artists who make the beautiful art, that’s why I want to share this article to all the game artists.

Unity3D 5 will release soon with the Physically Based Rendering system. I write shader for living, so I’d better learn it now. Surprise surprise, I figured out the rules of PBR actually really helpful for my hand painting skill.

PBR is based on real world physics. The old way to write a shader is based on experience: Observe the world, see here is a highlight, then add a highlight in the shader formula, there is a shadow, then add a shadow formula too. We don’t know why there are highlights and shadows. Much like the traditional painting, the details in the painting depends on the artist’s eye, not the understanding of the physical laws of light in the real world.

The meat start here:

Physically Based Rendering has 6 elements :

Diffusion, Reflection, Energy Conservation, Metals/Insulator, Fresnel, Micro Surface.

Diffusion: when light hits an object, photons will punch through the gaps of the atoms, bouncing around. If the photon is on a certain frequency, it will be absorbed by the atoms. Then a certain percentage of the light will be able to punch through the surface again and finally fly into our eyes. The color of the object depends on the leftover photon’s frequency. Diffusion = Object’s Natural Color

(this image is based on Jeff Russell’s Basic Theory of Physically-Based Rendering )

Reflection: the photons hit the surface, but didn’t penetrate. They bounced off the first layer of atoms. no photon get absorbed. Reflection = Environment Light’s Color.

(this image is based on Jeff Russell’s Basic Theory of Physically-Based Rendering )

Energy Conservation:Diffusion + Reflection < Light shoot on it

Metals/Insulator: The different between metal and insulator is the atomic structure Metals’ structure is stronger than insulator’s, so it behave differently when light hits each of them. Metals’ Diffusion: photons can’t penetrate the first layer of atoms, all the photons will be reflected back, that’s why metals don’t have diffusion color, or you can say, metals diffusion color is black. Metals Reflection: some metals atoms will absorb certain frequency photons, like gold’s atoms will absorb blue photons and reflect the rest, thats why gold’s reflection color is tinted in yellow. Quantum Physics provide a deeper explanation, you can google it if you are interested.

Fresnel: When the line of sight is perpendicular to the surface, reflectivity is minimized; When the angle between the line of sight and the object’s surface gets smaller, the reflectivity will get stronger. If you look at a sphere, the reflectivity is weaker in the center and stronger near the edge.

(this image is from Jeff Russell’s Basic Theory of Physically-Based Rendering )

Micro Surface: the light reflections occur at the atomic level, which means it is super sensitive to the roughness of the surface. The rougher the surface is, the more blurry the reflection will be.

(this image is from Jeff Russell’s Basic Theory of Physically-Based Rendering )

The previous paragraphs are a general introduction of Physically-Based Rendering. What is the relationship between PBR and traditional painting?

There are two aspects: The first one is the value of an object. The correct value for an object is “Natural Color’s Lightness” plus “Ambient light reflection’s Lightness”; Natural Color’s Lightness is the same thing as Diffusion’s lightness. The difficult part is the Ambient light reflection’s Lightness which will be mainly influenced by reflectivity rate. In order to get correct reflectivity rate, you have to consider Material, Micro Surface and Fresnel. Once you get the right reflectivity, you can use it to multiply ambient light, then get the right value, at a specific spot on the object.

When we paint the value, this is how the PBR elements work:

Diffusion: When the diffusion is brighter, the value will be brighter as a whole.

Reflection: Higher dense materials have stronger reflection and less Diffusion and vice versa

Energy Conservation: Diffusion + Reflection < The light shooting on the surface

Metals/Insulators: Metals don’t have Diffusion, the diffuse colors we see most likely are oxides on the surface of the object.

Fresnel: The smaller the angle between the line of sight and the surface, the stronger the reflectivity will be.

Micro Surface: The rougher the surface is,  the blurrier the reflection will be.

The second aspect is COLOR: This is easy(finally it’s easy for me now, haha), Because Natural Color + Ambient light color * reflectivity = object’s color. The higher the Reflectivity rate is, the stronger Ambient light color will be and vice versa.

When you are trying to use those rules to paint, it’s still quite complicated, color is the easy part, but the value’s reflection part, need to be considered by Reflection(Vary in different Material), Micro Surface and Fresnel. Then adjust the overall picture depending on Energy Conservation; Let’s break down the painting process step by step: (btw, the steps does not necessarily match each of the PBR rules one by one)

Example:

(the images below are from awesome artist Sam Nielson’s tutorial)

Lines and shapes must be completed first. How ever there is not much to say, because they’re basic skills.

 

make a new layer, lower the line layer’s opacity,then we are ready to paint the value.

This is an interesting step, he painted Ambient Occlusion first; There are many ways to calculate AO in computer rendering, but the basic principles are the same: When the angle between surfaces is smaller than 90 degrees or when the distance between surfaces is small, then the computer will do AO on the surfaces. We do computer rendered AO because it’s fast and it can filter out the extra reflections from the darker side. In hand painting, we do AO for the similar reason: it’s fast and easy to understand.

Ok, in this step, the bigger general value starts to appear. Pay attention to how the PBR rules changed the value: With Micro Surface and Reflection — Clothing material is softer and rougher than skin, so highlight on clothes are bigger and fuzzier. Highlights on the skin are more focused, the boundary of dark parts and bright parts is clearer; With Fresnel—On the sleeves’ edge, the reflectivity is stronger when closer to the edge, because the angle is changing. The value also becomes brighter as well. It’s happening all over the place, on the mustache, the cup and everywhere else. Energy Conservation — is not very obvious for 2D painting, just pay attention to the overall contrast, don’t make the whole image look like an overexposed photo.(note: this is just the value of overall painting, without diffuse color)

Overlay the AO layer and shadow layer, the value part is finished(without Diffuse). AO is kind of easy, as long as you have solid knowledge of perspective . The hard part is the paint overall value: have to fully understand how to combine Reflection,  Micro Surface, Fresnel and  Energy Conservation rules, to figure out the different reflectivity rate on different parts. Then use the reflectivity to multiply the light which shines on each part, to get the final value. It needs some practice for sure.

Now it’s time to add some color. Hide the AO and value layer and use flat colors to fill up the image. The color should be the Object’s Natural Color, and yes, this is the Diffusion. In the AO and value layer, we hadn’t painted diffuse, but now it’s the time. Adjust the color’s brightness and saturation to show the correct natural color.

This is an easy step, just unhide the AO and value layer and do a overlay, then we get Diffusion (diffuse color’s brightness and saturation) + Reflection(reflection’s brightness). Now we are only missing one thing: reflection light’s color (which is reflection’s saturation).

This step is the final finishing touch, Just the same as how we figured out the value part, we need to calculate the different reflectivity rate on different parts, then paint a ambient light’s color on it. The stronger the reflectivity is, the more saturation we get.

That’s it.

Sum up

1: diffuse color is easy, just focus on the difference of brightness and saturation between different materials.

2: reflection has two steps.

Step One, Value: Think about Materials (Diffusion), Roughness (Micro Surface),  Visual Angle (Fresnel) to calculate the reflectivity on different parts, use reflectivity multiply the light’s intensity, then we have the value.

Step Two, Color: Use the same reflectivity to multiply the light’s color, then we have the color hue and  saturation.

 

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off

Opus Pocus Trailer

“Opus Pocus” – Game Trailer from T.J. McLain on Vimeo.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Opus Pocus level texture

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

OpusPokus Character

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment